Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

New user - three questions

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

New user - three questions

Postby SurlyGuitar » Wed Mar 20, 2013 8:20 pm

I just started playing with Notion today and I am extremely impressed. I have two relatively minor issues I haven't been able to resolve yet:

1.) How do I enter a space in a lyric? (i.e.) I want two words associated with one note. By default in Notion when you hit space it jumps to the next note.

2.) First-Second ending. This functionality assumes that you only have a first and second ending. In my song the 1st and 2nd time through are the same, and the 3rd ending is different. How do I handle this?
SurlyGuitar

Re: New user - three questions

Postby Surfwhammy » Thu Mar 21, 2013 2:58 am

NOTION 4 is vastly awesome, for sure . . .

For sure!

SurlyGuitar wrote:1.) How do I enter a space in a lyric? (i.e.) I want two words associated with one note. By default in Notion when you hit space it jumps to the next note.

The only ways I know to do this at the moment are (a) to use a hyphen or dash or (b) to separate single notes into a pair or set of notes to match the syllables, as shown in the following examples:

There might be a better way to do this, but using a hyphen or dash works, as well as changing the notes to match syllables works for me . . .

It is useful to note that there generally are two types of singing:

(1) melismatic: This is where a single syllable or word is spread over a series of notes, which is the general style James Brown sings in his hit song from the early-1960s ("Bewildered") . . .

"Bewildered" (James Brown & The Famous Flames) -- YouTube music video