Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

External MIDI-No Sound

A Forum to Discuss PROGRESSION

External MIDI-No Sound

Postby Aph » Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:42 pm

When I choose External MIDI, select the channel and part, etc. I get no sound. The MIDI Output under preferences is for Microsoft Software Synth.
All my other software works fine with the MS Software Synth.
Any suggestions?
Aph
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:36 pm

Re: External MIDI-No Sound

Postby KylePoehling » Thu Jul 30, 2009 9:02 am

So you're trying to play out of Progression to your software synth correct? You may double check the channels that Progression is sending the data out....

I'll ask around here and see if anyone can reproduce your issue.

-Kyle
Kyle Poehling
Marketing/Communications Manager-Notion Music
http://www.hotpoliticsband.com
http://www.modernrobot.net
User avatar
KylePoehling
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:46 am

Re: External MIDI-No Sound

Postby Aph » Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:35 pm

Well, I'm trying to get the "internal" MS Windows software synth to work. I am NOT using an external MIDI port or synth.
Because I have no external MIDI port, the only options for MIDI Output under preferences is for Microsoft Software Synth or None. I have it selected for Microsoft Software Synth.
I have tried a few different patches and every channel.
Aph
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:36 pm

Re: External MIDI-No Sound

Postby Aph » Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:44 pm

Okay, I just tried it again and now I get sound! I made no changes to anything on my computer.
But, no matter what channel or voice I select, all I get is piano. And it has terrible latency. It plays way behind the internal sounds... and no, I don't want to delay the internal sounds by a sixteenth note just to get this working.
Aph
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 1:36 pm

Re: External MIDI-No Sound

Postby KylePoehling » Thu Jul 30, 2009 4:26 pm

Sorry...now I'm confused as to what you're trying to accomplish. You're trying to play the midi out to another instrument and play that instrument at the same time? I've found that using external controllers produces very very little latency and is pretty easy to set up. I guess the most tricky scenario I've run across was trying to trigger the Progression sounds with my Roland SPDS (drum/sample pad). In that scenario everything worked fine. I was on a mac with a PreSonus Firebox though....

Can you run down your set up and exactly what you're trying to accomplish? Sorry for the confusion!

-Kyle
Kyle Poehling
Marketing/Communications Manager-Notion Music
http://www.hotpoliticsband.com
http://www.modernrobot.net
User avatar
KylePoehling
 
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:46 am


Return to PROGRESSION

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


cron