Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

instrument-id test fails

instrument-id test fails

Postby themeworks » Fri Feb 03, 2012 8:53 pm

Fellow forumites,

I am writing a set of custom rules and presets for

a) Symphobia
b) Symphobia iI
c) Sam Orchestral Essentails
d) The default orch patches in Kontakt 5

However, I am struggling with instrument-id tests. They all seem to fail. I take the ID from the shift-I and use to set flags (wind, brss, perch, strg, etc). The flag tests work to force the rule options (when I hard set them) but the tests to "set" the flags fail. The instrument-id tests failed when embedded right in the rules too - which is why I symbolized them via flags as I saw done in other preset libs.

So... I am stuck with a great plugin-id, perfect articulation catches, fine midi and keyswitching etc. But my instrument IDs fail.

Andy ideas?

Here's an example:

<?xml version="1.0" ?>
<rule-set version="1">

<dynamic-map id="kont">
<dynamic dynamic="ppppp" value="0" />
<dynamic dynamic="pppp" value="10" />
<dynamic dynamic="ppp" value="30" />
<dynamic dynamic="pp" value="40" />
<dynamic dynamic="p" value="50" />
<dynamic dynamic="mp" value="75" />
<dynamic dynamic="mf" value="85" />
<dynamic dynamic="f" value="100" />
<dynamic dynamic="ff" value="106" />
<dynamic dynamic="fff" value="112" />
<dynamic dynamic="ffff" value="120" />
<dynamic dynamic="fffff" value="127" />
</dynamic-map>

<plugin id="1315524405">

<setup>
<velocity-map id="kont" />
<hairpin-map id="kont" />
<hairpin-cc value="11" />
</setup>

<!-- Woodwinds ############################## -->

<rule name = "Woodwinds Flag">
<if instrument-id = "10001" /> <!-- taken right from shift-i on track -->
<set-flag name = "wind" /> <!-- this works when I just hard set it, below -->
</rule>

<rule name="default">
<channel-change channel = "1"/>
</rule>

<rule name="winds staccato">
<if flag = "wind" />
<if articulation = "staccato" />
<channel-change channel = "2" />
</rule>

<rule name="winds espressivo">
<if flag = "wind" />
<if technique = "espr" />
<channel-change channel = "3" />
</rule>

</plugin>

</rule-set>

- EOF

Thanks..
themeworks
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:44 pm

Re: instrument-id test fails

Postby wcreed51 » Sat Feb 04, 2012 4:14 pm

I don't think these libraries (or any in Kontakt) even have instrument IDs.
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5
Win8 x64, 32GB RAM
M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
User avatar
wcreed51
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:50 am
Location: Berkshires, MA USA

Re: instrument-id test fails

Postby themeworks » Sat Feb 04, 2012 6:58 pm

Yeah,

It's not a Kontakt # --= it's a Notion # (Shift+i) to use for the ruleset to filter which rule for which stave, basically. Think of them as stave rules, not really instrument (perhaps they should b renamed)

At any rate, the Notion rules are ignoring the Notion instrument-id's - or at least form me.

So - I can't get it to tell the different between a winds trill keyswitch from a strings trill keyswitch, for ex. It's all Notion-side.

Is there an instrument-id prefix or suffix to alter for the rules file?

-C*
themeworks
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 5:44 pm

Re: instrument-id test fails

Postby davidmesiha » Mon Mar 26, 2012 11:06 pm

Hey there,

have you been able to find an answer to this? I'm struggling with this issue.

I can't figure out a way to have different rules apply to different instances on Kontakt playing different libraries on different staves. The custom_rules file will apply the same set of rules to all instances of Kontakt, how can you set it up so that Notion can differentiate different rules for different vsti?

any help from your experience would be immensely helpful.

sincerely

David
davidmesiha
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:36 am

Re: instrument-id test fails

Postby wcreed51 » Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:18 am

You would have to run Kontakt in standalone mode, and use virtual MIDI to connect to the 4 MIDI ports available in Notion.
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5
Win8 x64, 32GB RAM
M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
User avatar
wcreed51
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:50 am
Location: Berkshires, MA USA

Re: instrument-id test fails

Postby davidmesiha » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:09 pm

thanks for the response...
davidmesiha
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Feb 05, 2010 4:36 am

Re: instrument-id test fails

Postby derAbgang » Tue Aug 14, 2012 12:07 pm

Any resolution to this?

I am using vienna ensemble pro and the event input plugin. My tests are all from the ids revealed with SHIFT-I (show all instruments).

thanks,
David
derAbgang
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:09 am


Return to Custom Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests