Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

What articulations are included?

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

What articulations are included?

Postby jodep » Wed Aug 12, 2009 1:42 pm

It seems to me that all possible expressions and articulations are listed in the sidebar, even the ones that are not included in Notion Protégé. For some articulations, the help file indicates that an extension pack is needed, but this is not always the case. So, to find out which ones are included, I started entering a few notes and testing the articulations (and also find out how they sound). For most articulations, this is simple, e.g. the Bartoc pizzicato does not seem to do anything, and I conclude that it is not included in the base version of Protégé. However, as a non-musically trained newbie, I am not sure that I am not missing some of the more delicate nuances because of my un-trained ears.

Hence the question: is there a way to know for sure which articulations (and expressions/dynamics/...) are included and which are not? I was thinking of an exhaustive list, or an option to hide (gray out) the ones that are not available, ...
jodep

Re: What articulations are included?

Postby KylePoehling » Thu Aug 13, 2009 8:49 am

It's probably easier for you to look at what articulations are included in the expanded strings I and II kits to find out which ones you won't have....

here's a list of what's included in the expanded strings kits:

Expanded Strings I

This kit introduces new techniques for violin, viola, cello and bass sections. The new sounds include tremolo, accent tremolo, con sordino, accent con sordino, staccato con sordino, pizzicato con sordino, tremolo con sordino, accent tremolo con sordino, half step trill con sordino and whole step trill con sordino.

Expanded Strings II