Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

Midi keyboard not inputing to score

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

Midi keyboard not inputing to score

Postby awwatson740 » Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:52 pm

Ok, I'm brand new at Notion. Bought the iPad version and got hooked then bought the desktop Notion 4. I'm getting pretty familiar with it with one exception. I cannot get my Yamaha CP33 to input notes to score. It works with my Pro Tools and CueBase but I've tried everything I know (that didn't take long!) and can't get it. I'm sure it's a simple move. Can anybody help this rookie?
awwatson740

Re: Midi keyboard not inputing to score

Postby Johnny » Wed Jun 18, 2014 4:26 pm

awwatson740,
if you navigate to _File > Preferences... and click on the "MIDI Tab" you should see the MIDI Input "Input Device". Select the Yamaha MIDI device from the drop-down list. The close the preferences.

You obviously need a Notion Staff and instrument. In Score> Setup insert a Staff and instrument. Use the Piano.
Exit the Score Setup and return to the Main Score Window.
When you Select/Click-on the piano staff you added you should then be able to play your Yamaha keyboard and hear the piano sound.

If Not!

1. Is your Computer Audio Setup Correct? ( Do you have an ASIO audio device ? )
2. Do you have the Notion Sound Library downloaded and installed on your computer? ( Separate installation than the Notion Application). _Does the demo song work?_
3. Is the MIDI port being used by another application/program in the background?

_____________I could go on but one of these issues is the usual suspect.____________

P.s. As for all new Notion users do yourself a big favor and take the time to thoroughly read the Notion Users Guide/Manual.