Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

Notation Enhancement

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

Notation Enhancement

Postby ashkantbt » Fri Apr 18, 2014 4:23 pm

By now it has been four years that I'm using Notion. I was patient during these years with the problems and thinking maybe time could solve numerous problems and bugs. I have even E-mailed these bugs and defects many times. Now I have to say, despite its great potential Notion has remained an amateur software for the professional composers who are searching for advance notation tools and realistic playback at the same time. And it is really disappointing that as a composer I have to convert my scores, which I've written in Notion, to Sibelius just because of lack of some small but vital options for editing the notation and the existence of the related bugs.
ashkantbt

Re: Notation Enhancement

Postby Rubens » Sat Apr 19, 2014 6:25 pm

Hi ashkantb, could you develop a bit more giving specific examples about your expectations and needs? I ask this because we all have our hopes to come and also I am curious about yours.
Anyway it seems at least that we will have cross staff for piano, harp, marimba in the next update/upgrade...
Rubens

Postby elerouxx » Sat Apr 19, 2014 8:01 pm

I am in the same place. I have to take my scores to Finale for further editing.

The worst part is, I have to do this for very little things: the lack of cross-staff notation for piano, the lack of courtesy signature changes at the end of systems, bad design between tuplet bracket and slurs, hard to manage system or page breaks in parts, or a too small fonts for time markings. Little steps if compared to the marathonic task of having created Notion and took it where it is now.