Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

Midi with my Yamaha Motif XS8 - Mac Mavericks

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

Midi with my Yamaha Motif XS8 - Mac Mavericks

Postby rn2114 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:09 pm

Hi:

I am new to Notion and am trying to set up my Yamaha Motif XS8 to work with midi keyboard entry and with Midi out (mapped to the sounds within the Motif) in Notion 4. I'm using a midi interface usb cable between my Mac (Mavericks os 10.9.1) and the Motif, and have been able to get the midi in to transmit from the Motif into the computer in garageband (as a means of testing connection), but have been unable to get it to consistently talk to Notion. (I had the keyboard input working for a bit, but when I restarted the computer the next day it no longer worked. I've not yet gotten the midi out to communicate from Notion with the Motif, even intermittently.) I've gone through the preferences and midi set up steps and tried setting the midi input port in Notion to the interface cable and tried setting it to all, neither work. I've also set up the Midi output to the interface cable with no luck either. I have had luck setting up the input port to my LPK25 midi keyboard which works both when selecting it alone or when selecting all for the input port, just not consistently with the Motif.

I'm hoping that there is some simple step or thing that I am missing for getting Notion 4 to talk Midi in/out with the Motif. I think that the motif settings are ok because I was able to get it to talk to garageband in my test. I'm fairly new to all of this and have watched the tutorials on midi keyboard entry and read the manual on it, but still haven't found what I am missing. Any help from those much more expert than I would be greatly appreciated!
rn2114