Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

Setting treble and bass clef cross over

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

Setting treble and bass clef cross over

Postby pblais » Mon Nov 11, 2013 3:45 pm

Hello
My name is Pierre and I am new to Notion and this forum.. Not new to Presonus though :)

I don't know how to describe my question other than what I wrote in my subject line.
Right now if I do step recording with my MIDI keyboard and play notes well below "middle C", Notion just appends small staff lines onto the treble clef where it then places my notes.
I would like it to start placing notes below middle C into the bass clef staff.
Is there anyway to tell Notion onto what clef to place notes?

Thanks in advance
Pierre
pblais

Re: Setting treble and bass clef cross over

Postby Admin » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:29 am

It's coming. This is a feature that we have been talking about for years. It is on the way.

-Admin
Admin
Site Admin

Postby pblais » Tue Nov 12, 2013 11:34 am

Great :)

Is there anyway that I can force Notion to place notes on the bass clef in the interim?

Thanks
pblais

Postby Surfwhammy » Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:33 pm

pblais wrote:Is there anyway that I can force Notion to place notes on the bass clef . . .

I am doing some experiments to discover the rules, but there is at least one way to cause MIDI input to be specific to a bass or treble clef, and this is based on the primary rule, which is that absent doing anything to the contrary--if there is anything one can do to the contrary, which at present I do not know--MIDI input goes to the currently selected staff . . .