Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

Missing sounds in Miroslav Philharmonic

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

Missing sounds in Miroslav Philharmonic

Postby Proteus » Tue Jun 11, 2013 8:49 am

I have installed Miroslav Philharmonic (IK Multimedia) on my iMac and it has been registered successfully.

It shows up and is enabled in the VST Instruments in Notion4 but when opening the programme there are no sounds showing.

The sounds have installed into a folder named users/apple/documents/IKMultimedia.

I have used the "PREFERENCES" in the opening screen of Miroslav Philharmonik and selected "ON" for "RELIST ON STARTUP" but nothing as yet has changed.

Is there a way of loading the sounds successfully as I have installed the programme twice and the sounds still do not show?
Proteus
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:18 pm

Re: Missing sounds in Miroslav Philharmonic

Postby thorrild » Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:40 am

Hi Proteus,

Miroslav is still not available as a 64-bit library, so you have to run Notion in 32-bit in order to use it.
On the Mac, select Notion 4 in the finder and press Cmd.-I. In the info window, check "Open in 32-bit mode," then start Notion.
On a Windows machine, I believe there are two distinct versions of Notion, and you simply select which one you want to open. Maybe a Windows user can explain this if you need more info.

Best wishes,
Thorrild
27" iMac 2013; OS 10.9.3
User avatar
thorrild
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 4:34 pm
Location: New York City

Re: Missing sounds in Miroslav Philharmonic

Postby Admin » Tue Jun 11, 2013 10:48 am

Dear Proteus,

This sounds like an IK tech support question. You might want to contact them to see why Miroslav is not loading its sounds.

Have you tried running Miroslav in standalone rather than as a VST?

-Admin
User avatar
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:12 pm

Re: Missing sounds in Miroslav Philharmonic

Postby Proteus » Tue Jun 11, 2013 11:13 am

Thankyou for the replies.

I have tried running Miroslav as a standalone programme and the end result was the same.

I was also running Notion4 in 32bit so it seems I will have to contact IKMultimedia to see if there is a solution


Again thankyou both for your messages.


Proteus.
Proteus
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:18 pm

Re: Missing sounds in Miroslav Philharmonic

Postby Surfwhammy » Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:29 pm

Proteus wrote:I have tried running Miroslav as a standalone programme and the end result was the same.

I was also running Notion4 in 32bit so it seems I will have to contact IKMultimedia to see if there is a solution


If you are certain that the approximately 7.5GB of sampled sounds for Miroslav Philharmonik are installed on your Mac, then all you need to do is to set the location via Miroslav Philharmonik PREFS, where you click on the "Browse" button just to the right of "ROOT", as shown in the following screen capture, where you will do this when Miroslav Philharmonik is running in standalone mode . . .

[NOTE: For reference, the "RELIST" option set to "ON" takes time when Miroslav Philharmonik is loading, and you only need to do the "RELIST" once, so it is faster to set it to "OFF". Then you only need to do a RELIST if you add more stuff to the "Instruments" folder or install updated sampled sounds. It also is important to select the "HI QUALITY" option, where you toggle the options by clicking on the option which currently is selected, which is a bit backward in terms of user interface design and standards, but so what. The logic is that these are "radio buttons", hence are "options" rather then "checkboxes", except that they are square, which makes them look like checkboxes, and for simplicity I call all these things "options", where "radio buttons" are mutually exclusive options and checkboxes are options that can be set in various combinations rather then only one at a time, which I do because using "checkboxes" requires one to use "check" and "uncheck", which is a bit awkward. I prefer writing "set the option" or "clear the option". "Check" has dual definitions, which is another problem, since it can refer to verifying rather than putting a "check mark" in a small rectangular or square user inteface box . . . ]

Image

For reference, you can install the Miroslav Philharmonik sample sound libraries (a.k.a., "Instruments") anywhere, but the standard location on the Mac is in the "Application Support" folder under "Library", where there will be an "IK Multimedia" folder and underneath it a "Miroslav Philharmoniks" folder and then a subfolder named "Instruments", where you want to navigate to the "Instruments" folder and select it . . .

[NOTE: If the image is truncated, then you can right-click on it in Firefox and then select "View", which will display the full image in a new window or tab. The name of the hard drive or whatever will be the name of the drive where you decided to install the sampled sounds, which for me was on the primary drive for the Mac Pro here in the sound isolation studio, which I named "Mountain Lion HD". The standard default name for the primary drive of a Mac will be "Macintosh HD". The other folder names will be the same, although as noted you can install the "Instruments" folder anywhere you desire, but the path I listed is the standard path. And I suppose that you could give the "Instruments" folder a custom name, like "Miroslav Philharmonik Instruments", but the subfolders need to be the standard names, where for example if you have a SSD drive, you could create a folder named "Miroslav Philharmonik Instruments" on it and then point Miroslav Philharmonik to it via PREFS and browsing to the respective custom folder on the SSD drive, where the path might be "My SSD Drive->Miroslav Philharmonik Instruments". The PREFS screen capture (see above) shows how it looks with "HI PERFORMANCE" selected, which as I recall is the default, but you want to change it to "HI QUALITY" to get the best sound . . . ]

Image

This is how the contents of the "Instruments" folder look, and the samples for each section are in the respective subfolders . . .

[NOTE: This screen capture shows the full path, where as noted (see above) the name of the drive might be different on your Mac. The "Instruments" folder will be approximately 7.5GB if you have installed all the sample sounds correctly. I have another drive named "Lion HD", and it is the one that Miroslav Philharmonik actually uses, but so what. I clone the current primary drive when I install a new version of Mac OS X, and I used the "Mountain Lion HD" drive in the examples, since it is the current primary drive . . . ]

Image

Summarizing, if Miroslav Philharmonik cannot find the sample sounds for its instruments, then there basically are two reasons:

(1) You did not install the sampled sounds . . .

(2) You did not set the location for the sampled sounds, which can happen if you install the sample sounds to a different path than the standard path expected by Miroslav Philharmonik, where this problem is corrected by using PREFS to browse to the correct folder as explained (see above) . . .

One might suppose that a third possibility involves the login account you are using on your Mac, where you installed using an Administrator account but are running with a User account that does not have sufficient privileges, but this is unlikely . . .

Lots of FUN! :)
The Surf Whammys

Sinkhorn's Dilemma: Every paradox has at least one non-trivial solution!
User avatar
Surfwhammy
 
Posts: 1137
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 4:45 am

Re: Missing sounds in Miroslav Philharmonic

Postby Proteus » Wed Jun 12, 2013 11:19 am

Miroslav Philharmonic is now working fine so thankyou everyone for your help.
Proteus
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Jan 15, 2010 12:18 pm


Return to NOTION

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


cron