Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

vsl event input plugin

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

vsl event input plugin

Postby nevermore2k » Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:12 pm

how to get it to work with VSL ?
nevermore2k
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:38 pm

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby wcreed51 » Thu Dec 13, 2012 1:47 pm

What is it that you're trying to accomplish? In Notion, you'd have to add it as a VST, which will bypass the playback rules.
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5
Win8 x64, 32GB RAM
M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
User avatar
wcreed51
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:50 am
Location: Berkshires, MA USA

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby Admin » Thu Dec 13, 2012 3:25 pm

Go to the score setup window.

Look in the VST menu and you will find the Event Input Plugin. Add one to your score.

Once added, exit the score setup window. Select the Event Input staff and press Command + I. The instrument dialogue window will appear. You must then assign the Event Input to the MIDI Channel you would like to connect to.

These are the basics. There will soon be a video on the website that gives a tutorial of how to do this, including the most efficient way to set Vienna Ensemble up to handle the Event Inputs.

-admin
User avatar
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:12 pm

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby nevermore2k » Thu Dec 13, 2012 5:01 pm

okay thats the same like i had :) but it does not trigger the articulations :(
nevermore2k
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:38 pm

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby nevermore2k » Thu Dec 13, 2012 5:02 pm

okay how can i do it . so that it wont bypass the playback rules ?
nevermore2k
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 3:38 pm

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby sapkiller » Tue Dec 25, 2012 11:38 am

Hi
The event input has different Plugin ID than the VSL ensemble itself , so you need use that in the rules xml files.
best regards
Bjarne Kristiansen

Cubase 6.5, Notion 4
XEON Dual X5670, Win7 x64, 48GB RAM
2 x MR816 connected via RME Raydat
NI Complete , Vienna Symphonic Library , Spitfire, SoniVox SI Library, LASS and more
sapkiller
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2012 4:51 pm

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby Admin » Fri Feb 01, 2013 3:36 pm

Here is the plugin ID for the Vienna Ensemble Pro Event Input:

1986359397

-Admin
User avatar
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:12 pm

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby alexg » Fri Feb 15, 2013 7:58 am

Admin wrote:Here is the plugin ID for the Vienna Ensemble Pro Event Input:

1986359397

-Admin


Which file do I edit with this information? I've managed to setup a large VE Pro Instance with over 50 instruments using 4 x Event Inputs but dynamics aren't working nor can I assign instruments to play an octave lower than written e.g. D. Basses.

In general, i love Notion but why does everything have to be so cryptic. I feel like I'm playing Sherlock Holmes to discover how basic things work. Is there a secret handshake that I don't know about that will give me access to this information. Perhaps I need to re-read Dan Brown's Da Vinci Code for an answer.

Please get some basic videos (or white papers) on how this stuff works - particularly custom rules. I've got an honours degree in Electrical Engineering but quite frankly, I can't figure it out. Do I have to enroll in a Ph.D course? Hopefully not because in my life experience I've found an inverse relationship between technical proficiency and marketing prowess.

Alex
alexg
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2009 2:09 pm

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby Admin » Fri Feb 15, 2013 1:24 pm

Hi alexg,

The Double Bass Octave Down question is solved like this:

1. Go to Score Setup
2. Click the Gear Wheel on the Double Bass staff
3. In the Staff Settings dialogue box, click Notation/Tab
4. You will see a Transposition Section in this window. Change Notated C sounds = C One Octave Lower in the three menu options that you see there.

________________________________________________________________

Now to deal with rules:

- Any Instruments you have assigned in your score that are running to Vienna Event Pro Input need to use the Vienna Event Pro ID: 1986359397

- Any Instruments you have assigned in your score that are running to Vienna Ensemble Pro need to use the VE Pro ID:1987274096

You can have multiple sets of rules in one rules folder and the file hierarchy needs to be set like this:

File Hierarchy.png
File Hierarchy.png (97.91 KiB) Viewed 4872 times


Notice that I have many sets of rules. Many of the actual rules are the same, but the plugin id's are different. Keep your rule files organized and be careful what you edit.

<dynamic-map id="vsld"> Make sure the dynamic map is assigned with "xxxx" matching below
<dynamic dynamic="ppppp" value="0" />
<dynamic dynamic="pppp" value="19" />
<dynamic dynamic="ppp" value="28" />
<dynamic dynamic="pp" value="39" />
<dynamic dynamic="p" value="54" />
<dynamic dynamic="mp" value="63" />
<dynamic dynamic="mf" value="79" />
<dynamic dynamic="f" value="84" />
<dynamic dynamic="ff" value="95" />
<dynamic dynamic="fff" value="103" />
<dynamic dynamic="ffff" value="116" />
<dynamic dynamic="fffff" value="127" />
</dynamic-map>


<plugin id="1986359397"> <!-- Vienna Ensemble Event Pro Input Id -->

<setup>
<velocity-map id="vsld" />"xxxx" HERE
<hairpin-map id="vsld" />"xxxx" And Here
<hairpin-cc value="11" />
</setup>

This setup is working for me. My dynamics and rules playback using the VE Pro Plugin ID and the VE Event Pro Plugin ID. Without looking at exactly what you are doing, it is hard to tell what might be going wrong.

I hope this helps,

-Admin
User avatar
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1006
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 7:12 pm

Re: vsl event input plugin

Postby wcreed51 » Fri Feb 15, 2013 4:08 pm

> You can have multiple sets of rules in one rules folder

I've always wondered that, but never saw it mentioned in any of the Rules downloads...
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5
Win8 x64, 32GB RAM
M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
User avatar
wcreed51
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:50 am
Location: Berkshires, MA USA

Next

Return to NOTION

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


cron