Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

EWQL & Notion 4 Post your experience here!

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

EWQL & Notion 4 Post your experience here!

Postby 7stringjazz » Thu Nov 01, 2012 10:39 pm

Just wanted to start a thread on EastWest libraries and Notion4. My main interest in Notion4 was to be able to utilize these libraries in native 64bit and I had hoped for better integration with EW. It looks like the integration effort may have gone towards to VSL. I'm fairly new to Notion so my experience is minimal and I just got Eastwest Complete Composers Collection (CCC) which comes on a dedicated hard drive. So far I have have had mixed results. I expected to be able to load the full template and just have it work. Well not so easy I think. So I tried the lite versions and same result. I'm not savvy enough to tell if its me, EW or N4. I did find out from EW that Notion is NOT a supported platform. What? You don't support platforms that support you? Pretty amazing stance to take for a samples company. But whatever.

Anyway post your experiences here.
Classical music is the kind we keep thinking will turn into a tune. -Kin Hubbard

Musings: [url]Soundcloud.com/7stringjazz[/url]
7stringjazz

Re: EWQL & Notion 4 Post your experience here!

Postby 7stringjazz » Fri Nov 02, 2012 12:51 am

FWIW My system:

Win7 64
Intel i7 3770
16gig ram

a basic 2012 desktop.
sample libraries
Eastwest CCC
Halion Symphony
Komplete 5
Miroslav etc.
Classical music is the kind we keep thinking will turn into a tune. -Kin Hubbard

7stringjazz

Postby wcreed51 » Fri Nov 02, 2012 8:16 am

What exactly was the issue loading EW?

I just loaded up a standard orchestra with full patches, and it seems to be fine. Uses about 5.5GB of RAM
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5