Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

Good enouh PC?

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

Good enouh PC?

Postby mrarnesen » Wed Jun 06, 2012 5:51 pm

My Notion Demo has expired so now I'm just waiting for my next payday to buy it :)

But i'm a bit worried that I don't have a good enoug PC to run all the software I wanna buy. I noticed that when I used the Notion demo with several Miroslav Philharmonik instruments, it started to get slow and the memory use was close to the limit. So maybe I have to just buy a new PC?

The problem is that I'm no expert at all on this. So all the fancy words like "Intel Core 2 Duo", "AMD Dual Core 2.1GHz", "Sound card with ASIO drivers", "7200 RPM or faster" and so on, tells me nothing.

I don't even know what kind of PC I got, lol. Although I could find the following information about my PC:
AMD Athlon (tm) II X2 245 Processor 2.90 GHz
4,00 GB RAM (but only 3,00 GB is free)

I got no idea what kind of hard drive or soundcard I got, although I know that the hard drive has 600GB free.

Guess I have a really poor PC for running software like Notion, Miroslav, Kontakt, Tonehammer...?

Perhaps it could be a good idea to print out the system requirements for all these programs and bring it to a store?
Logic Pro 9, Kontakt 5, Notion 4, Requiem Light, Mercury Symphonic Boychoir, Emotional Piano, Miroslav Philharmonik.
mrarnesen

Re: Good enouh PC?

Postby pcartwright » Wed Jun 06, 2012 6:27 pm

I definitely recommend doing some research and getting a firm understanding of hardware requirements especially when it comes to any sort of media production.