Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

Postby mkiz » Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:17 pm

When I try to load the 64-bit version of EWQLSO Play vst, I get a notice that this is not a valid 32 bit application. Does that mean that I am doing something wrong, or that the 64 bit version of Play is not supported...(yet?)

(On a separate note, thanks to Lubo for the tip on how to get the Play samples to load without having to find the folder every time! This should be a big time-saver)

Thanks,
Mark
mkiz
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 6:09 pm

Re: Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

Postby Treppenwitz » Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:58 pm

+1 here.

I thought Notion was 64 bit since it says so on the box, but evidently it is not. How soon will this be remedied? For what it's worth, Vista x64 gives me remarkably little trouble as an OS. Problems come from 3rd parties dragging their feet on fully implementing 64 bit apps and drivers. I use 64 bit so I can address RAM above 4 GB, which for EWQLSO Platinum is pretty much required.
Treppenwitz
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2009 10:47 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Re: Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

Postby astinov » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:57 am

Hello everyone,

Just wanted to address something here. NOTION is a 32 bit app that is compatible with 64bit operating systems - like Windows 7 x64 and Vista x64. It does not say that it is a 64 bit app on the box this is not accurate - it says under System Requirements, where it lists the OS's, XP/Vista/Windows 7 (64bit compatible) meaning, what I just described above.

PLAY 64 bit would not run in a 32bit environment. This is with any 32 bit program. We do have plans for 64 bit version of NOTION, but you have to remember ReWire is currently 32bit only (it can run only between 32 bit apps), so a 64 bit version of NOTION would loose ReWire.

Thanks, just wanted to make this clarification!

Lubo Astinov
astinov
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

Postby francois_harel » Wed Oct 07, 2009 9:33 am

Dear Mr Astinov,
Unfortunatly, N3 is not a x64 application... why ?
We all wait for a x64 notator which can handle x64 plugin like EWQLSO.
This will breaks the memory limit of x32 applications.
To do that, I will force to use LoopBe30 and use PLAY as stand-alone application in x64 mode.
Same setup as Finale !

Does Notion has plan to transfert N3 in a real x64 application ?

Francois, Montreal
QX9650 3.0 GHz on Asus Maximus Formula, 8Gbytes, 4 SATA2 drives on Vista x64.
Finale 2011b, Sonar PE 8.5.2, KP2, K3 and K4, fullGPO, JABB, CoMB
EWQLSO Silver and Plat+ on PLAY 2.0.25
Edirol UA-1000, M-Audio Keystation Pro 88
francois_harel
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

Postby astinov » Wed Oct 07, 2009 12:37 pm

Hello Francois,

Yes we do plan on bringing in a 64 bit version of NOTION in the future.

Thanks!

Lubo Astinov
astinov
 
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2009 1:40 pm

Re: Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

Postby dgriffee » Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:10 pm

Lubo, please clarify the clarification :?

I would expect that "compatible with 64bit operating systems" should mean that we can run it on Vista x64, and access the same presets for VSTi plugin EWQL Play x64. I understand that rewire is incompatible for x64, but rewire is not the showstopper if I'm only talking about running Play VSTi per Notion presets for EWQL Play, does that make sense? In other words, no we do not have to "wait for 64 bit Notion", it should be _compatible_ to run EWQL Play VSTi x64 plugin right now, yes?
User avatar
dgriffee
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2009 10:09 pm

Re: Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

Postby Debinani » Wed Oct 07, 2009 1:22 pm

dgriffee wrote:In other words, no we do not have to "wait for 64 bit Notion", it should be _compatible_ to run EWQL Play VSTi x64 plugin right now, yes?


Notion 3 is a 32-bit application which, the company states, runs properly on 64-bit systems. Regardless of that however, you cannot load 64-bit VSTs into a 32-bit host. If you want to use x64 Play VSTs in Notion, you'll have to put a 32-bit wrapper on them with jbridge or something similar - which I have heard works great.
Debinani
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:19 am

Re: Can't load EWQLSO Platinum Play 64-bit VST

Postby solo1 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:13 pm

Yes, use Jbridge, it works flawlessly in Vista 64 with Notion 3 and Play x64. Costs about $10-$15.
solo1
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:10 pm


Return to NOTION

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


cron