Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

64 bit, and possible workarounds?

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby dedersen » Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:07 am

I love Notion 3. Or, to be more precise, I love the idea of it. Unfortunately, in its current 32 bit form, I am finding it almost useless for me. I absolutely love the interface, the concept, everything except that the lack of a 64 bit version is keeping me from utilizing my orchestral VSTis to their fullest.

With the developers being suspiciously quiet about updates, I am wondering if anyone has some workarounds for accesing 64 bit plugins? I've tried using the MIDI out ports, but unfortunately I have not been able to find virtual MIDI drivers that work in Notion as well as in Cubase 5 64 bit. A shame, because this would really be the ideal way of working for me, using Notion for sequencing and Cubase for mixing/VSTi hosting and final tweaking of the MIDI data.

Another possible workaround is to use Vienna Ensemble Pro, but I really would rather avoid spending money on something I only need as a workaround.

Has anyone come up with a good method for accessing 64 bit VSTis? Or ideally, for routing MIDI between Notion 3 and Cubase 5 64 bit?
dedersen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:52 am

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby wcreed51 » Sun Feb 20, 2011 8:33 am

LoopBe is the only x64 virtual MIDI driver:
http://nerds.de/en/loopbe30.html

Some people use jBridge, and of course, there's VE Pro.
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5
Win8 x64, 32GB RAM
M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
User avatar
wcreed51
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:50 am
Location: Berkshires, MA USA

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby dedersen » Sun Feb 20, 2011 2:19 pm

I tried LoopBe but it didn't seem to work in Notion, I could choose the proper outputs but nothing came through to Cubase. Maybe it's a 32 vs 64 bit issue.
dedersen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:52 am

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby wcreed51 » Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:59 pm

You can't use it to connect with Cubase; you'd use Rewire for that. You'd use it to connect to Sample players like Kontakt, VSL, etc.
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5
Win8 x64, 32GB RAM
M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
User avatar
wcreed51
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:50 am
Location: Berkshires, MA USA

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby pcartwright » Sun Feb 20, 2011 10:12 pm

wcreed51 wrote:LoopBe is the only x64 virtual MIDI driver:
http://nerds.de/en/loopbe30.html

Some people use jBridge, and of course, there's VE Pro.


+1 for JBridge. It seems to be one of the best option for accessing additional ram IMHO.
pcartwright
 
Posts: 796
Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2009 2:47 pm

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby dedersen » Mon Feb 21, 2011 1:45 am

wcreed51 wrote:You can't use it to connect with Cubase; you'd use Rewire for that. You'd use it to connect to Sample players like Kontakt, VSL, etc.


I thought rewire was for audio routing, not MIDI? Regardless, isn't rewire also still 32 bit only or did it get updated? These were the reasons I started looking into virtual MIDI drivers. I can't see why that shouldn't work, except if there's a 32/64 bit issue again.

Notion integrated as the score editor in Cubase. What a wonder that would be. :)
dedersen
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 11:52 am

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby Brian » Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:48 pm

ReWire is still limited to 32 bit systems. I think JBridge or VE Pro are your best options.
Brian
NOTION Music Tech Support
866-398-2994
User avatar
Brian
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby wcreed51 » Tue Feb 22, 2011 3:53 pm

Brian, how do you let Notion know to use EWQL rules when loading Paly in VE Pro?
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5
Win8 x64, 32GB RAM
M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
User avatar
wcreed51
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:50 am
Location: Berkshires, MA USA

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby Brian » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:25 pm

That is a very good question. We do not currently support using EWQL via VE Pro. VE Pro would be an excellent way to use VSL SE in a 64 bit environment though.
Brian
NOTION Music Tech Support
866-398-2994
User avatar
Brian
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Jun 12, 2009 12:57 pm

Re: 64 bit, and possible workarounds?

Postby wcreed51 » Wed Feb 23, 2011 4:00 pm

It's an excelent way to uase any x64 sample player!
Bill Reed
Notion 4, Sibelius 7.5, Finale 2011/14, Overture 4, Cubase 7.5
Win8 x64, 32GB RAM
M-Audio ProFire 2626
Kontakt, VSL VI Pro, VE Pro, EWQL Orch, Choirs and Pianos
User avatar
wcreed51
 
Posts: 754
Joined: Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:50 am
Location: Berkshires, MA USA

Next

Return to NOTION

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests