Attention:

Welcome to the old forum. While it is no longer updated, there is a wealth of information here that you may search and learn from.

To partake in the current forum discussion, please visit https://forums.presonus.com

Problem to Attach Audio File

A Forum to Discuss NOTION

Problem to Attach Audio File

Postby Jan » Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:43 am

Hi,
I am rather new to Notion, and I am trying to synchronize tempo of the composition with an external wav recording. But when I go to the TOOLS to Attach the audio file to staff, there is no such option in menu. Am I doing a mistake somewhere? Could anyone help me with this problem?
thanks
Jan
Jan

Re: Problem to Attach Audio File

Postby Surfwhammy » Fri Nov 26, 2010 6:10 am

Jan wrote:Hi,
I am rather new to Notion, and I am trying to synchronize tempo of the composition with an external wav recording. But when I go to the TOOLS to Attach the audio file to staff, there is no such option in menu. Am I doing a mistake somewhere? Could anyone help me with this problem?
thanks
Jan

I did a quick test of the current version of Notion 3 (Build 281) on a 2.8-GHz 8-core Mac Pro with 8GB memory (8X1GB) and 5TB of hard drive space running Mac OS X 10.6.6 (Snow Leopard), and doing the external WAV file technique works nicely . . .

As best as I can determine, there are a few very specific requirements:

(1) The external WAV file must be 16-bits and 44.1-kHz, which for reference is standard CD music quality and is what most of the VSTi sample sound libraries are, as well . . .

(2) It tends to work best to use a Notion 3 "Basic Staff" for the external WAV file . . .